410-288-5788

Injured while riding an Uber or Lyft in Maryland—whom can I sue?

You booked a ride on an Uber or Lyft. While you were riding as a passenger, going to your destination, the car met an accident and you got injured. Can you sue the Uber or Lyft driver for reimbursement of your medical costs and lost income? Can you sue Uber or Lyft? Here are some facts you need to know.

The state of Maryland requires Uber and Lyft drivers to carry personal liability insurance that covers up to $100,000 in claims. So, if your claims do not exceed $100,000, you can run after the Uber or Lyft driver. They are insured for these contingencies.

But what if your claims exceed $100,000? For example, you required surgery and rehabilitation afterwards. You were unable to work while you were being treated in the hospital

Injured while riding an Uber - whom can I sue?

Can you make Uber or Lyft liable as well?

  1. Uber and Lyft can be made liable to pay as well. You booked your ride through their ride sharing app. You rode in a car registered as an Uber or Lyft car.
  2. While carrying a passenger, the drivers for Uber or Lyft may be considered employees or independent contractors for Uber or Lyft. Either way, they are agents of Uber and Lyft.
  3. Any fault or negligence of the Uber or Lyft driver while conducting you to your destination is fault or negligence that you can attribute to Uber or Lyft.
  4. Maryland law considers the Uber or Lyft car as a public conveyance or common carrier. They are required to obtain motor carrier permits as for-hire carriers. They are required to carry secondary coverage for their drivers of up to $1,000,000 dollars.
  5. More importantly, as common carriers, Uber and Lyft are required by Maryland to exercise extraordinary diligence.
Scroll to top